Meet the Staff: Donna McDougle

Standard
  • What is your name?

Donna McDougle

  • What is your job title?

I’m a cataloger and I work in technical services.

  • What branch do you work at?

West Georgia Regional Library Headquarters.

  • How long have you been with WGRL?

I got here in November of 2011.

  • What did you do before coming to WGRL?

I spent quite a few years as a search evaluator, working first for the lesser big search engine and then for the bigger big one. It was all very hush-hush.

  • What’s your favorite part of working at the library?

I don’t think it’s even possible for me to pick a favorite part. There’s a surprising amount of variety in cataloging and I enjoy everything from creating an original record to slinging in multiple copies of the latest best-seller and everything in between. For me, it’s like solving lots of puzzles every day. Never a dull moment!

  • What’s one of your favorite books and movies?

One of my favorite books is We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson. A movie I love is This Property is Condemned, from 1966, and based on the Tennessee Williams play.

  • If you could have dinner with three people, living or dead, who would they be?

Stephen King, Douglas Adams, and Elvis Costello (plus Flannery O’Connor, Russell Brand, and Eddie Izzard). I know you said three but math has never been my strong suit.

  • Tell us a little bit about your family.

I have three children and four grandchildren and I’m crazy about them all. I currently live with a Great Pyrenees, a Rat Terrier, a tuxedo cat, and a black cat. They’re good company, most of the time.

  • What do you like to do when you’re not at the library?

When I’m not at work, I like to do things outside. I love the Carrollton Greenbelt and ride my bike there as often as possible. I walk the dogs around downtown Mount Zion. I’m also fond of binge-watching series I’ve meant to get around to but haven’t yet or things I stumble across that look interesting to me.

  • What are you reading/listening to now?

Right now, I’m listening to Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper. It’s her debut novel. I checked it out through the 3M app on my phone and listen while I do things around the house. It’s poignant, funny, and bittersweet with a touch of magic realism.

Leave a Reply

